Design

Villa Vals was designed by Bjarne Mastenbroek and Christian Müller of the architectural firms SeARCH and CMA. Their design plan was to fully integrate the villa into the landscape to avoid disturbing the unspoiled natural surroundings. Therefore, access to the villa is only possible through an underground tunnel that runs directly through the mountainside from the nearby Graubünder stable. The facade of the house is slightly sloped, which enhances the view of the mountain landscape in the opposite valley.

Completed in 2009, the house was built with local entrepreneurs and furnished in collaboration with a variety of international designers and companies. Their idiosyncratic designs fit well with the villa's spacious, industrial architecture. Pieces and objects from Hella Jongerius, Demakersvan, Scholten & Baijings, Marcel Wanders, Claudy Jongstra, Royal Tichelaar Makkum and Vitra Nederland, among others, were used. The spacious interior is an eclectic but balanced mix of contemporary design. A unique combination of architecture, interior and design.

Photography Iwan Baan, Gaelle Boulicaut, SeARCH

Equipment

The house is equipped with triple insulated glass, underfloor heating in all rooms, a heating recovery/ventilation system, a Pivoting oven, Wi-Fi internet connection, a sound system, satellite TV, a washer and dryer, and a separate large fridge-freezer. The kitchen is fully equipped and offers a five-pan induction stove, two convection ovens with microwave and steamer, refrigerator and dishwasher, and a Nespresso machine. The entrance room has a pool table and wardrobes with heated ski boot holders (for 10 pairs) and is suitable for storing and drying ski clothes. Bed linen and towels are included in the rent.

House technic

The house is energy efficient and does not consume fossil fuels. It is heated and ventilated with environmentally friendly electricity from the nearby dam. For optimal efficiency and environmental considerations, windows and doors should be kept closed during the winter. Additional heating with the wood stove is optional. The heavy construction of the house adjusts slowly to temperature changes. Firewood is sufficiently stocked and will be charged according to actual consumption (CHF 15,- per container).

Design

Die Villa Vals wurde von Bjarne Mastenbroek und Christian Müller von den Architekturbüros SeARCH bzw. CMA entworfen. Ihr Entwurfsplan sah vor, die Villa vollständig in die Landschaft zu integrieren, um die unberührte Natur nicht zu stören. Deshalb ist der Zugang zur Villa nur durch einen unterirdischen Tunnel, der direkt durch den Berghang verläuft von dem nahe gelegenen Graubünder-Stall möglich. Die Fassade des Hauses ist leicht abgeschrägt, was den Blick auf die Berglandschaft im gegenüberliegenden Tal noch verstärkt.

Das 2009 fertiggestellte Haus wurde mit lokalen Unternehmern gebaut und in Zusammenarbeit mit einer Vielzahl internationaler Designer und Unternehmen eingerichtet. Ihre eigenwilligen Entwürfe passen gut in die großzügige, industrielle Architektur der Villa. Es wurden Stücke und Objekte von u.a. Hella Jongerius, Demakersvan, Scholten & Baijings, Marcel Wanders, Claudy Jongstra, Royal Tichelaar Makkum und Vitra Nederland verwendet. Das großzügige Interieur ist eine eklektische, aber ausgewogene Mischung aus zeitgenössischem Design. Eine einzigartige Kombination aus Architektur, Interieur und Design.

Ausstattung

Das Haus ist mit Dreifach-Isolierverglasung, Fußbodenheizung in allen Räumen, einer Heizungsrückgewinnungs-/Lüftungsanlage, einem drehbaren Ofen, WLAN-Internetanschluss, einer Soundanlage, Satellitenfernsehen, einer Waschmaschine und einem Trockner sowie einer separaten großen Kühl-Gefrierkombination ausgestattet. Die Küche ist komplett ausgestattet und bietet einen Induktionsherd für fünf Pfannen, zwei Umluftofen mit Mikrowellen- und Dampfgarer, Kühlschrank und Geschirrspüler sowie eine Nespressomaschine. Der Eingangsraum verfügt über einen Billardtisch und eine Garderobe mit beheizten Skischuhhaltern (für 10 Paar) und eignet sich zum Aufbewahren und Trocknen von Skikleidung. Bettwäsche und Handtücher sind vorhanden und in der Miete enthalten.

Haustechnik

Haus ist energieeffizient und verbraucht keine fossilen Brennstoffe. Es wird mit umweltfreundlicher Elektrizität aus dem nahe gelegenen Staudamm beheizt und belüftet. Für eine optimale Effizienz und aus Umweltgesichtspunkten sollten Fenster und Türen im Winter geschlossen gehalten werden. Zusätzliches Heizen über den Holzofen ist optional. Die massive Bauweise des Hauses passt sich langsam an Temperaturveränderungen an. Brennholz ist ausreichend vorrätig und wird nach tatsächlichem Verbrauch berechnet (CHF 15,- pro Gebinde). 

Fotos von Iwan Stöcklin